• Relational Database Service

  1. Help Center
  2. Relational Database Service
  3. User Guide
  4. Introduction
  5. Product Series
  6. Product Series Introduction

Product Series Introduction

Currently, RDS DB instances are divided into two series: basic edition and high-availability edition. Different series support different DB engines and instance specifications.

Table 1 Product series introduction




Basic edition

Uses the architecture of a single database node. More cost-effective than the mainstream master/slave high-availability edition.

  • Personal learning
  • Microsites
  • Development and testing environment of small- and medium-sized enterprises


Uses the classic high-availability architecture with one master node and one slave node. The local SSD storage provides excellent and balanced performance.

  • Production databases of large- and medium-sized enterprises
  • Applications for the Internet, Internet of Things (IoT), retail e-commerce sales, logistics, gaming, and other industries