• Object Storage Service

obs
  1. Help Center
  2. Object Storage Service
  3. User Guide
  4. FAQ
  5. How Do I Use Versioning?
  6. What Is Versioning Used for?

What Is Versioning Used for?

After versioning is enabled:

  • OBS automatically assigns a unique version ID to each uploaded object. Objects with the same name are stored on OBS with different version IDs. Figure 1 illustrates versioning.
    Figure 1 Versioning
    Table 1 Version description

    Version

    Description

    Latest Version

    After Versioning is enabled, each operation on an object will be saved with a new version ID. The version ID generated upon the latest operation is called the Latest Version.

    Historical Version

    After Versioning is enabled, each operation on an object will be saved with a new version ID. Version IDs generated upon operations other than the latest operation are called Historical Versions.

  • An object is displayed either in the object list or the list of deleted objects. It will never be displayed in both the lists at the same time. For example, after object A is uploaded and deleted, it will be displayed in the list of deleted objects. If you upload an object named A again, the object A will be displayed in the object list, and the previously deleted object A will no longer be displayed in the list of deleted objects.
  • An object can be downloaded by specifying a version ID. By default, the latest object version is downloaded if no version ID is specified.
  • To delete an object, select the target object by clicking the blank area in the object row, and then click Delete. The object will have a delete marker with the unique version ID but will not be actually deleted. Deleting the object version that has the delete marker can retrieve the object version.
  • The latest objects in a bucket are returned by default after a GET Object request.

If versions of objects in a bucket do not need to be controlled, you can suspend versioning. If versioning is disabled:

  • Objects which are Historical Version remain on OBS. You need to manually delete unnecessary objects which are Historical Version.
  • Objects can be downloaded by version IDs. By default, the latest object is downloaded if the version ID is not specified.
NOTE:

Once the versioning function is enabled, it can be suspended but cannot be disabled.