You are advised to enable versioning. Objects can be deleted by version ID. If an object is deleted with no version ID specified, the object is only attached with a delete marker but is not physically deleted. You can restore it.
If versioning is not enabled or an object is deleted with its version ID specified after the function is enabled, OBS will delete the object, and you cannot restore it.