You can delete a private container image that has been uploaded.
Each Docker image is usually composed of layers. After an image is deleted from a container registry, files at certain layers of the image may be preserved in the container registry for future use. These preserved files are called residual image files. If the container image you will upload contains residual files, the container registry prompts you that these files already exist and do not need to be uploaded again.
Deleted private container images cannot be restored.